Facebook Twitter

Immunology

immunology art Anyone who has overcome a bout of the flu or received a vaccination can appreciate the essential, protective role of the immune system. Yet, the simple idea of an individual's ability to protect itself from foreign agents becomes exponentially more complex when studied at a cellular and molecular level. MMI immunology faculty are no strangers to the labyrinthine world of cells, molecules, and signaling pathways that act in our defense. Some of our faculty focus on broadly applicable immunological phenomena such as the contribution of NKT cell autoreactivity to tolerance, the regulatory role of gamma delta T cells, or mechanisms of leukocyte migration. Other MMI immunology faculty study host-pathogen relationships, often in the context of reliably adapted animal models. The development and efficacy of Blastomyces dermatitidis and Borrelia burgdorferi vaccines, the contribution of innate and adaptive cellular responses to resistance in African trypanosomiasis, and the manipulation of innate immune cells by Toxoplasma gondii constitute a few of the research foci within the context of specific infectious diseases.

Investigators
Image of Curtis Brandt Curtis Brandt
Professor of Ophthalmology and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
550a Bardeen Medical Lab · (608) 262-8054 · crbrandt@wisc.edu
Image of Jenny Gumperz Jenny Gumperz
Associate Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4305 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-6902 · jegumperz@wisc.edu
Image of Anna Huttenlocher Anna Huttenlocher
Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology and Pediatrics
4205 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 265-4642 · huttenlocher@wisc.edu
Image of Bruce Klein Bruce Klein
Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4303 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-9217 · bsklein@wisc.edu
Image of Laura  Knoll Laura Knoll
Associate Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
3303 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 262-3161 · ljknoll@wisc.edu
Image of Miroslav (Mirek) Malkovsky Miroslav (Mirek) Malkovsky
Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
3205 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-6316 · mmalkovs@wisc.edu
Image of Jeniel Nett Jeniel Nett
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
5203 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 262-7494 · jenett@medicine.wisc.edu
Image of Donna Paulnock Donna Paulnock
Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4472 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-5857 · paulnock@wisc.edu
Image of John-Demian (JD) Sauer John-Demian (JD) Sauer
Assistant Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4203 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-1529 · sauer3@wisc.edu
Image of Ronald (Ron) Schell Ronald (Ron) Schell
Professor, Medical Microbiology and Immunology; Chief Bacteriologist, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene
Rm 613 WI State Lab of Hygiene · (608) 262-3634 · rfschell@wisc.edu