Facebook Twitter

Fungal Pathogenesis

fungal pathogenesis artOur survival is inexorably linked to the Kingdom Fungi. Among its many essential roles, fungi contribute to the global recycling of nutrients, the generation of enzymes used in food production, and the production of antimicrobials. Few of the thousands of known fungal species are capable of causing disease, and yet life-threatening infections caused by these pathogens are increasingly prevalent. The ease with which Candida may form biofilms on medical devices contributes to its persistence among nosocomial infections. Pulmonary and systemic infections caused by Aspergillus, Blastomyces, Cryptococcus, and Histoplasma are often misdiagnosed or diagnosed too late to respond effectively to treatment. Resistance to common antifungals is growing. Our fungal pathogenesis faculty seek to alleviate the global burden of fungal infections by understanding and manipulating the dynamic interplay between fungal pathogen and host.

Investigators
Image of David Andes David Andes
Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
5205 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 265-8577 · dra@medicine.wisc.edu
Image of Gregory Gauthier Gregory Gauthier
Associate Professor of Medicine, CHS
3472 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 265-0429 · gmgauthier@wisc.edu
Image of Christina Hull Christina Hull
Associate Professor of Biomolecular Chemistry and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
5204B Biochemical Sciences Building · (608) 265-5441 · cmhull@wisc.edu
Image of Nancy P. Keller Nancy P. Keller
Professor of Medical Microbiology and Immunology and Bacteriology
3476 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 262-9795 · npkeller@wisc.edu
Image of Bruce Klein Bruce Klein
Professor of Pediatrics and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4303 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 263-9217 · bsklein@wisc.edu
Image of Jeniel Nett Jeniel Nett
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Medical Microbiology & Immunology
5203 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 262-7494 · jenett@medicine.wisc.edu
Image of Jon Woods Jon Woods
Professor of Medical Microbiology & Immunology
4552 Microbial Sciences Building · (608) 265-6292 · jpwoods@wisc.edu